About Me · My reading

Let’s talk about… Twilight

Back in September 2008, 16-year-old me stumbled across a short clip of the Twilight movie. I remember it was the scene in which Edward saves Bella from being hit by a van. I think it also featured a voiceover about Edward being the bad guy. I was sold, even though I didn’t even know the scale of what I was getting into. I don’t think I caught the name of the movie during that clip. That’s how out of the loop I was.

Fast forward to December of that same year and I’m standing in the middle of BJs in Rhode Island, while on vacation, looking at a book with a cover that had the faces of that clip I had seen. And it was on sale. Of course I bought it.

IMG_5283.JPG
My first copy of the book. Look at that mess.

I read that book in a day and, as soon as I was done with it, I started re-reading my favorite parts. I just fell in love with it. It was cool to read about a vampire who didn’t want to be a vampire falling in love with a human that represented such a big temptation to him. After that, I started watching interviews of the cast of the movie, watching all the promo made for the movie (Twilight promo was relentless, y’all), and then it was time for me to go home. Yes, home in Dominican Republic where the movie had been showing for weeks now unbeknownst to me. Some friends of mine wanted to see it, so, as soon as I got home, we went to the movies. I quoted almost every line word for word because I had basically watched the movie in promo clips.

From then on, it was a journey I will never forget and one I think I might still be living if we’re being honest. I read the entire saga, waited desperately for the next movies to come out, went to midnight screenings with my friends and my family, dealt with the agony of being a fan of a series that got so much hate, shipped Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart, dealt with the agony of being a Kristen Stewart fan (still dealing with that), and discovered fanfiction, which opened up a whole new world.

Twilight, regardless of how well or bad written it is, helped me relearn about my love for reading. It gave me “internet-friends”, it made me bond with real-life ones, it opened up a whole new world that included more books, more genres, more movies, more authors, etc.

I’m not ashamed of my history with Twilight, so I thought I’d share it. I hope someone out there can relate. If not, well… at least now you know me better. 🙂

Love, Lis.

4 thoughts on “Let’s talk about… Twilight

  1. I have to completely agree with you. This was the book that introduced me into the amazing world books. I get sad when I see how much hate this books get. They might not be perfect but they will always have a special spot in my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

