My reading

Best reads… So far [Jan-Feb 2016]

IMG_5146.JPG

Hello! If you know me, you’re probably aware of how much I enjoy reading. It’s one of my favorite things to do, along with talking about what I just read. One of the purposes of this blog is for me to review my favorite books. So, this is what this post is about.

So far in 2016, I’ve had the pleasure of reading really good books, so I thought I’d made kind of a wrap-up, master post with my top 5 books I’ve read this year.

Here they go…

  • 5- Infinite Dolls by Emalynne Wilder: This book was published last year, and to be honest, I don’t really know much about where it came from. I think it was first self-published and then picked up by a smaller publisher. The story is about a girl with a weird medical condition and a guy who’s studying to become a doctor. One of his classes is diagnosing the girl’s condition by asking her questions in every class. They fall in love instead. Needless to say, there’s angst. More than that, it’s a beautiful story about embracing life, overcoming hurt, and finding ways to be thankful and happy. The writing style is poetic and while there were some editing errors in the book, I’m still very happy I read it. (4.5 stars) Goodreads review here.

 

  • 4- Wicked Sexy Liar by Christina Lauren: Many may know this writing duo for their work with the Beautiful Bastard Series, but I’ve come to love these writers for their Wild Season Series. Wicked Sexy Liar is the fourth book, telling the story of Luke and London. These characters have been mentioned before in the first three books of the series, but in this book we really get to know (and love) them. Their banter was great, the sex scenes were steamy and it was a very enjoyable book. I had some issues with how we went a bit in circles with some of the obstacles the couple faced, but I’m a sucker for this series, so I’m a bit more forgiving. (4 stars) Goodreads review here.

 

  • 3- F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher: This book was the first book I read in 2016 that made me go all ASDFGHJK (Excuse my fangirl.) The story deals with Helena, our narrator, falling in love with her best friend’s boyfriend. While this plot may not be of much interest to some, I had no problem with it and I enjoyed this book so very much. Helena is one of the most self-aware characters I’ve ever read. I’ve said it before and I will continue to shout it to anyone who’ll listen. She knows her strengths, her weaknesses, her quirks and everything in between. She also knows she still has a lot of things to figure out and we get to see her work through some things as the story unfolds. While the love story was pretty good for me, heartache included, and I loved Kit as a love interest (even if he was a selfish a-hole sometimes), it’s Helena’s narrating voice that makes this book a standout to me. It’s filled with Harry Potter references too, so yay. (5 stars) Goodreads review here.

 

  • 2- Carry On by Rainbow Rowell: If you know me, you know I’m a fan of Rainbow Rowell’s writing, and this book pretty much sums up why. It’s the first book this year I’ve read twice back to back. As soon as I finished it the first time, I went to the first page and started all over again. Her dialogues are the best and she does heart-melting cute romances like no other. Carry On is her take on Fantasy YA, telling the story of Simon Snow, the chosen one to save the magic world; and Baz Pitch, his roommate and enemy (but not really). If you read Fangirl, you might know of them, but if you didn’t, don’t fret. You don’t need to read one to understand the other. Carry On, in my eyes, is a book that uses all of the cultural references from our time in a way that makes you appreciate it more. There’s magic, romance, well-created characters, tough choices, and, as always, Rowell’s easy-to-love characteristic writing. (5 stars) Goodreads review here.

 

  • 1- I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson: Out of the 12 (almost 13) books I’ve read this year, this is probably the most unique of the bunch, as well as the most accomplished (It won Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature, among other things). It tells the story of Noah and Jude, twins who go from inseparable to almost enemies, and we have to find out just what happened. We get the past years (age 13-14) from Noah’s perspective and the present (age 16) from Jude’s. I loved this book so, so much, because not only are Nelson’s sentences so beautiful, they’re also powerful and filled with meaning. The way the weirdness is mixed with more grounded and deeper subjects is perfect. Also, I feel like every relationship in the book is interesting, from the one between Noah and Jude, to the one with their respective love interests, to the one with their parents, etcetera. It took me awhile to finally get around to reading this book, but I’m so glad I did. It will stay with me. (5 stars) Goodreads review here.

There you have it! My favorite reads of the year so far.

I will be posting more books reviews as I read, but if you want to follow my reading life more closely, you can check out my Goodreads and follow me on Litsy under the username LisbethTejada.

3 thoughts on “Best reads… So far [Jan-Feb 2016]

Leave a Reply

