Deep thoughts

Random thoughts on makeup

utensilios-maquillaje
Source here.

Ah make-up… that amazing bunch of chemicals we can put on our faces to make ourselves look whatever way we want to look. It’s great. I’m a fan of makeup. I wished I had more money to buy better brands or even to just buy more makeup things, but that’s not the point of this blog post. (I do accept donations if you want to help to that cause…)

What I wanted to talk to you about was the fact that I’ve noticed a couple of things that bother me regarding the makeup world and makeup perception. The first thing is that for some reason there is a big group of people that think that women who love makeup and therefore wear it on a regular basis are somehow shallow or vain. I’m sure that can be the case for a lot of people out there, but I’m also confident that it’s not like that for everyone. Sadly, I believe this has something to do with the silly thought that women aren’t capable of being interested in more than one thing. It’s like if you’re considered intelligent, being interested in fashion negates that or vice versa. Or if you love sports you can’t be a “girly girl”, etc, etc.

Another misconception I’ve seen, especially regarding beauty and fashion bloggers or youtubers, is that if you like wearing makeup it’s because you don’t love yourself as you are or look. And again, this can be true for some people, but it doesn’t mean it’s the truth for everyone. From what I’ve seen, both from beauty bloggers and youtubers I follow, as well as people I know, these people are usually the first to encourage others to love and take care of themselves first. Many of them talk about how being true to who you are, loving yourself and learning to be confident in your own skin is what will make an outfit or a makeup look stand out. (I’m sure these girls also have their own insecurities, but at least they’re trying to teach everyone to be positive…) Basically, generalizations about this, or any other subject, suck and we shouldn’t believe in them.

On a different note, one thing I hate about makeup tendencies and such is how much effort it takes to have a “natural look.” I can’t count the amount of times I’ve sat in front of my computer and watched a nine minutes (or more) natural makeup tutorial video where you need to own and apply a ton of products to achieve a natural look. And I get it, some of us want to make it look like we barely put any effort, while still looking ah-mazing, but I think we should find an easier way to do this. I know that makeup brands, the fashion industry, the media, and society overall push these products down our throats and we’re a mass consumption generation, yada, yada, yada… I’m just venting because, well, it’s my blog!

If you’ve read this far, thank you! Let me know in the comments if you love makeup as well. Or if you know any easy (REALLY EASY) ways to achieve the natural makeup look.

See you next post, xo.

5 thoughts on “Random thoughts on makeup

    1. Mi problema con la máscara es que tengo unas alergias hermosas y ojos sensibles que se irritan mucho cuando me la tengo que quitar, entonces no me gusta ponermela a menos a que sea un full make-up look. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

