My reading

Reading Slumps and Writer’s Block

Hi there! Like I said in my last and very long post about Hamilton, (which you can read here) the writing gods have forsaken me. But I’m trying. So I’m here to ramble a bit about how I feel right now.

As you can probably tell by the very obvious title of this post, I’m currently in a bit of a reading slump. However, this is kind of a different reading slump than the ones I’ve had in the past. It’s not that I don’t want to read… it’s that when I start reading, I don’t enjoy it. Or more like I’m reading just to read and not because I have the usual craving and need to do so.

The last book I really enjoyed was The Winner’s Kiss, the last book of The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski, which I read last month. (I really enjoyed that series, btw.) After that, I’ve read three different books, two from authors I really enjoy and one debut from a former fanfic writer whom (it is whom, right?) I’ve always wanted to read original fiction from. And I liked all three books I read. I just didn’t feel consumed by them and that lack of emotion for these books left me feeling a bit empty. Like there’s a spark missing. Do you know what I mean? For a lover of books to not be able to get excited about a book is a tragedy, isn’t it?

In the past, reading slumps for me have been about simply not feeling like reading any of the books I’ve picked up. Or not being able to finish them or get interested enough in the story. This time, I’ve been able to read till the last page, I’ve been able to recognize the good or enjoyable in the books, but I haven’t been able to actually enjoy them. Does that make sense? I don’t know if I’m explaining myself, which is fitting, considering I don’t even know how this reading slump really feels. Ugh. So frustrating.

Well, at least I’m writing something, right? Because that’s the other thing: writing. I don’t know when was the last time I opened up a document to write. I have one unfinished fanfic that’s missing the second part of its epilogue, as well as two “books” I started writing forever ago.

I know some people say writer’s block doesn’t exist and maybe that’s true. Maybe if I was under some sort of obligation to write, I would’ve done it already. Maybe writer’s block is another word for laziness and lack of desire to put in the hard work. But whether that’s the case or not… I’m not writing (Besides the once in a blue moon blog posts). And I haven’t even felt like writing in a long time, which kind of makes me sad.

Anyway… I’m going to end this post here before it becomes too much. Hopefully, I’ll see you next post, sooner rather than later.

Send good reading/writing vibes, would you?

PS: I wrote this post before reading Something Nice, the free Original Sinners short story that Tiffany Reisz gifted to the people subscribed to her newsletter. I really loved reading that.

2 thoughts on “Reading Slumps and Writer’s Block

Leave a Reply

