My reading

On reading and traveling

Hello there! As you can see, I’m slowly trying to recover a regular posting schedule. As an update on my last blog post (which you can read here), I’m happy to say I’m sort of out of my reading slump. I read and loved a free Original Sinners short story called Something Nice by Tiffany Reisz, a book called Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher and I’m almost done with The Bird and The Sword by Amy Harmon, which I’m loving.

However, the reason I’m writing today is because next week I’ll be doing one of my favorite things in the world: going on a trip. I’m going away with my friend Amelia and her Mom to the United States for a summer-vacation-type-thing-trip and I can’t wait.

While being excited about these plans, I kind of started musing that there’s something very similar about traveling and reading. At least I think so. When you open a book, you get to know the stories of different people, places, cultures, etc. Depending on the genre of the book, you might find yourself in different worlds altogether, or going back in time, or taking a look at the future. You can learn about some things about a country by reading about the places the main characters likes to visit or even the places they hate. When you read, your body might be still… but your mind is soaring.

Traveling can evoke the same feelings in me. Going to a new place or even returning somewhere that’s far away from home can give you the opportunity of learning about new things. You get to see firsthand the differences and similitudes of this new place with your home, the same way you might compare yourself or the people around you to book characters. You get to try new food or enjoy dishes that you can’t usually have back home, go new places, do different things, etc, etc.

However, the biggest thing traveling and reading have in common for me is that feeling at the end, when you feel your life and your mind have stretched a bit and you’re left feeling a bit better. Not every trip you take or every book you read is going to change you as a person, but the truth is that each new adventure, whatever form it may come, can help you grow and evolve. And what a good feeling it is.

What do you think? Do I have a point? Am I rambling nonsense? Let me know in the comments below.

See you next post.

One thought on “On reading and traveling

  1. It is true when you read immerses you in the story , in particular I am one of those people who imagine reading each part of history, nice blog Ana keep going, i’mean excited for your next post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

