My reading

Author’s Spot: Rainbow Rowell

Hello everyone! Welcome to the very first post of the #AuthorsSpot series. As I wrote the other day (check that out here), I’m going to be talking about my favorite authors (and some of their work) in these posts.

Today’s pick is Rainbow Rowell, the lovely woman who according to the information on her webpage writes about people who talk a lot, feel like they’re screwing up, and fall in love. Besides being the author of some of my favorite books, she also seems to be a kind, compassionate, and funny human being who’s one of the best people to follow on Twitter. (Seriously, go follow her.)

I’m going to go ahead and start talking about my feelings about the books I’ve read from her, in the order they’ve been released. Buckle up.

Attachments [2011]. This book was Rowell’s debut novel and it was the second book I read from her. It follows the story of Lincoln, a shy guy in charge of monitoring the emails of the company he works for. He ends up falling for Beth Fremont, a girl who’s breaking the newsroom’s policy by using the emails to share details about her personal life to her best friend, Jennifer Scribner-Snyder. It’s a cute story, and it was interesting to see how this guy fell for a girl just by what she emailed her best friend about. However, this is not my favorite from Rainbow Rowell’s book, so let’s move along. (Goodreads review here.)

Eleanor & Park [2013]. Now this is where it all started. This was my first Rainbow Rowell book and I was determined to follow this woman’s work after reading this one. The sentences in this book were gorgeously sad (if that’s a thing), and the story was the perfect amount of angst and cuteness and heartwarming feelings. So many feelings. The Rainbow Rowell webpage description of this book is on point: “Set over one school year in 1986, Eleanor & Park is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.”  I’m not sure if everyone would love this book, but in my opinion is a definite must-read. (Goodreads review here.)

Fangirl [2013]. When you’ve spent several years of your life fangirling about a book series and everything about it *cough-Twilight-cough*, a book named Fangirl is destined to catch your attention. For this one, we follow Cath’s life, a fanfiction writer and grade A fangirl who’s heading off to her first year of college with her twin sister Wren. The best part about this story are all the layers we have here. There’s not only some lovely romance to read, but we also see Cath’s struggle with her writing, with having to leave some things behind, and with getting things done on her own. There’s friendship, family-love, and romantic love and it was a delight to read, proving me by this point, that Rowell’s writing always going to give me good things. (Goodreads review here.)

Landline [2014]. Even though Attachments’ main characters were adults, when I think about Rainbow Rowell writing about adult people, this is the book that comes to mind. The greatest thing about Landline is that I can’t explain very well what it’s about or why I love it so much. Here we get to know Georgie, the writer of a TV show, the wife of Neal, and the mother of two. Her marriage has been having some trouble for a while, but she can’t really say where things went wrong. When work makes her spent Christmas in a different state than her family, life throws her a bone with a magic phone that allows her to call to the past and talk to Neal ten years before present day. It sounds weird, but I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this book. Georgie and Neal’s interaction (both during the phone conversations and otherwise) were so enjoyable to read. Despite having some “magic” in it, this story and the characters felt so real, so it was like a perfect combination for me. (Goodreads review here.)

Carry On [2015]. Remember Fangirl Cath? What was she fangirling about? Well, she was a fan of a book series about a magician called Simon Snow. In Carry On, Rowell takes the characters from that fake series and makes them truly her own. And OH MY GOD, bless her for doing this. Most days, I can’t pick which is my number one favorite book from these five, but Carry On is always neck and neck competing for the spot. What’s this about? Magic, and love, and romance, and kissing, and monsters, and pop-culture references, and witty dialogue, and smart characters, and multiple point of views, and it’s amazing. (Goodreads review here.)

Overall, I think Rainbow Rowell writes effortlessly. Reading her books gives the illusion that writing comes easy to her, even though it probably doesn’t. Her writing is beautiful in its simplicity and her characters are adorable with their humanity. If you haven’t read any of her books, I suggest you get to one soon, even if she ends up not being your type of writer, I like to think that you will enjoy the experience.

So that was it for the first post of this series. I hope you liked it. I’ll be back soon with writing about another one of my favorite authors, so stay tuned for that.

See you next post, xo.

3 thoughts on “Author’s Spot: Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

