My reading

Author’s Spot: Megan Hart

Hey there! I hope you’re having a lovely Friday. As you probably know, during this month of October, I’m doing a series of posts that I’ve called Author’s Spot, where I talk about some of my favorite authors. So far, I’ve posted about Rainbow Rowell (read here) and J.M. Darhower (read here).

Today, it’s Megan Hart’s turn. Discovering this author was like winning the lottery for me. I remember back in the day, I was kind of new in the world of erotica/erotic romance, so I wasn’t sure where to look. I wanted the stories to be interesting and filled with good characters so that when the sexy times came, they would be more enjoyable to read. By some miracle, someone in a Facebook group about a Twilight fanfic (it all comes back to Twilight) recommended a book from her and I’ve never looked back.

Let’s get started. This woman has written A LOT of books. I haven’t read them all, and I won’t review all of the ones I’ve read, but we still have a long ride.

Broken [2007]. I read this book in 2012 and I still mention it as one of the best books I’ve read of this genre. (I’ve never reread it, by the way.) I don’t know how much I can say about it without spoiling anything, but this book follows the story of Sadie, a thirtysomething year old woman who’s married to a man who has lost all movement in his body. She loves him, she takes care of him. Still, once a month she gets together with Joe, a friend who lets her live vicariously through him by telling him about his latest conquests. This book is filled with good sex scenes, but it also has its fair share of heartbreak and agony. Somehow, it feels like it deals with deeper subjects than just the sex, and I loved it so much for that. Broken was my first time reading Megan Hart, and out of all her books, this is my number one recommendation. Always.

Dirty [2007]. I also read this book in 2012, and because it followed Broken, I kind of don’t remember much of it. I rated it 3 stars on Goodreads, but I don’t know exactly why. For context, this book follows the story of Elle, a junior vice-president of corporate accounting. She’s a go-getter and a casual sex kind of gal. Then, she meets sexy, lawyer Dan, and you know what happens. He agrees to keep things casual, but you also know how that usually goes. The characters in these story are very flawed and human, something that’s very much Hart’s style. This book ended being a bit sadder than I was expecting it to be, but I believe it’s worth a read. I think if I were to read it again, I might bump my rating from three to four stars.

The Space Between Us [2012]. I love, love, love reading about threeway relationships and this was the first time I read one that was F/M/F. I had already read another Hart book with a similar theme (Tempted, M/F/M) and when I saw this book had a similar story, I had to read it. Here, the main character is Tesla, and she’s comfortable with her life working at a café, serving her regulars. One of her clients, Meredith, is an intense and beautiful woman who gets Tesla to agree to become the third party in Meredith’s marriage with Charlie. Things end up being a bit more complicated than just the sexy fun they all agreed to have when Tesla and Charlie develop a connection that goes a bit deeper. It’s a ride.

Tear You Apart [2013]. I read this book in 2014 and by then, I was already a fan of Hart’s writing. In this one, we have Elisabeth as our main character and she has a marriage that’s falling apart. When she meets Will, a man who re-introduces passion into her life, you know trouble’s going to happen. This book deals with infidelity, something a lot of people are not down to read, but I’m not one of those people and I ended up really enjoying this book. My only issue with this story was that I didn’t get as invested in these characters as I’ve had in other Hart’s books. Having said that, I still think they had very human emotions and were easy to understand. The sex scenes, as usual, were on point. So wrong, but so right.

There you have it, guys. My walk down memory lane with one of my ultimate favorites. I think Megan Hart writes great stories about very realistic characters. Her writing is smart, her dialogues are wonderful, and her sex scenes are amazing. For some unknown reason, I haven’t stalked Megan Hart on social media (I’m not even sure if she’s active on them), so I don’t know a lot about her as a person. However, I don’t need to know what she’s tweeting about to tell you that she’s a skilled writer. If you’re looking for erotic romance/erotica (or whatever these adult books are called) with depth and well rounded characters, this woman should be a top priority in your TBR lists.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Next week, we’re finishing off the Author’s Spot series with a very special author and a really cool surprise.

See you then, xo.

One thought on “Author’s Spot: Megan Hart

Leave a Reply

