About Me · My writing · Uncategorized

Writing Diary Chapter Two

Hi, hey, hello! As I promised in a past post (that you can read here), I’m going to be sharing my journey with trying to write a book. Some of you may know that this is not my first time trying to do that. To be honest, sometimes it feels like I’ve been trying to write a book my whole life. But I have to admit I’ve been lazy. I’ve given up too soon in the past. I hope I can change that this time around and really stick to it.

It feels weird that now that I have so much going on, I want to take on the task of writing this book, but I’m going to roll with it. Now… where were we the last time we talked? I had the first seven “chapters” written down. As of this moment, I’m trying to write my way into “chapter” 24. And yes, the word chapter is too big for what I have, so I’m going to keep adding the quotations mark to it. Bear with me.

The struggles continue to be the same than the last ones I shared. I’m an a bit of an overthinker. It’s hard for me to word vomit all over the blank pages. I’d like to get it as right as possible on the first try, and while realistically I know this does not happen, my mind still tries.

Another thing is that writing is a lonely process. No one can read what you write until you’ve written it, but talking about my story and sharing what I write is something I really need. (As these writing diary entries probably tell you.) That’s why I sat down with one of my best friends and talked to her about the basics of my plot. She gave me some ideas and opinions, so now I have some of that in my mind when I write. I don’t know whether that’s a good thing or not. I know it’s probably not advised, but hey, rules are meant to be broken, right?

My lovely editor, Damarys, who fixes everything I write is also in the known about the story. I gave her access to the draft so that she can read what I have so far. (She hasn’t read anything yet.) I need her to hold my hand through this process and I don’t think she can do that until she reads some of what I’ve written. I’ll probably have her thoughts on the whole thing by the time I post another writing diary entry.

Another thing is that I love my two main characters and I love writing scenes where they interact. However, the entire book can’t be just about them, right? I need to make sure they have full-rounded lives and personalities. It’s easier said than done, so I’m trying to work that out.

I think that’s all I have to share right now. Hopefully, I’ll continue to have things to share because that would mean I’m writing. As always, comments are encouraged.

See you next post, xo.

Leave a Reply

