My writing

Writing Diary Chapter One

Hey there! I know, I know… it’s been a minute. The good news is that I have never forgotten about this blog and that I’m planning to get back on track. I have some posts that are ready to go and I’m super excited to share them. In the upcoming weeks, I plan to share a series of master post reviews about books from some authors that I really like, as well as this sort of writing diary because, guess what? I’ve been writing!

For the past few days, I’ve been feeling very inspired about my writing and I kind of got serious again about finishing one of the writing projects I started a long time ago. I thought it’d be kind of cool to create some blog posts about my journey with writing this possible manuscript. (Some day, hopefully, that’s what it will be.)

Let’s see… where do I start? From as long as I can remember, writing a book has been one of my goals in life. No one even has to read or buy it. I just need to get it out there. A few years ago, I did #NaNoWriMo and I reached the goal of writing 50,000 words during that month. However, I didn’t finish writing that story. Instead, I wrote several fanfics and started writing a new “book”. I have issues, I know.

Sadly, one of the fanfics I started since that edition of #NaNoWriMo is not yet finished. I wrote the first part of its epilogue, but I can’t seem to find the way to end it. As I wrote here the other day (read that post here), I was in a bit of a reading slump and writing was not happening. So that fanfic epilogue has been collecting dust in my computer.

On the other hand, the characters I created for the new “book” have been in my mind since the moment I started writing about them. And for the past few days, I’ve been slowly adding bits and pieces to their story. It’s a slow, hard, and confusing process, but I really want to push myself to finish it.

As of right now, I have the first seven or so “chapters” written. I admit I’m scared of the whole editing process, so I’m very careful with what I write. I don’t want to write everything that comes to mind and then have to end up deleting chunks of it later on. (Even though that’s probably what’s bound to happen. Editing is where the magic happens, they say.) I’m struggling with trying not to overthink before I write so that I can focus on getting the story out of my brain. I’ll keep you posted to how that goes.

If someone reading this is taking a shot at writing or has already written something, help a sister out. Any advice? Can you relate? Let me know in the comments below.

See you next post, xo.

2 thoughts on “Writing Diary Chapter One

Leave a comment